SPLOST passes; Brock, Bojo, Cochran, Robinson, McDaniel and Collins win city commission seats

Tuesday, November 7, 2023–10:06 p.m.

-David Crowder, WRGA News-

Craig McDaniel and Wayne Robinson both celebrated election wins Tuesday (John Bailey, Rome News-Tribune)

The votes are in and counted.

In Rome, Harry Brock, Jim Bojo, and Mark Cochran got the most votes for city commission in Ward One.

That means Rome will also have a new mayor since the current mayor Sundai Stevenson did not make the top three, who are elected.

Meanwhile, Wayne Robinson, Craig McDaniel and Bill Collins won in Ward Three.

In Cave Spring, former mayor Dennis Shoaf was elected to the city council in Post 1, ousting incumbent Tom Lindsey. In Post Three, Joyce Mink was re-elected.

Rome and Floyd County voters also approved a special local, option sales tax.

Rome City Commission candidate Charles Love awaits election returns Tuesday at the Floyd County Elections Office. (John Bailey, Rome News-Tribune)

In Calhoun, Jimmy Palmer was re-elected mayor.

He defeated former Gordon County Commissioner Bruce Potts.

Meanwhile, Randy Abernathy won the special election for a seat on the Gordon County Board of Commissioners vacated when Potts stepped down to run for Calhoun mayor.

In Fairmount, Tyler Leamer was elected mayor while Justin Bonds won a seat on the city council.

In Resaca, Thomas Keese won the contest for town council.

You can see the election returns here.

Other Northwest Georgia results

Gordon County voters also overwhelmingly approved a special purpose, local option sales tax.

In Adairsville, Kenneth Carson was re-elected mayor and Alice Towe was re-elected for Post One on the city council.

Cartersville Mayor Matt Santini was comfortably re-elected.

For Emerson City Council, incumbent Charlie Lowery and Charles B. Dabbs Sr. were elected.

There was also a special election for Emerson City Council and Dannis Mauldin was the winner.

In Euharlee, incumbent Tim Abbott and Jayson Frederick were the top vote-getters for seats on the city council.

Rome City Commissioner Mark Cochran celebrates his re-election Tuesday (John Bailey, Rome News-Tribune)

In Kingston, Chuck Wise was re-elected mayor while Payron Silver was re-elected to the city council.

In a race for Taylorsville Town Council, where the top two are elected, incumbent Raymond E. Harris got the most votes, but incumbent Linda L. Cantrell and Jessica T. Harris tied, so we don’t know yet who will get that second spot.

In the City of White, Curtis Powell was re-elected mayor, and Karissa Noland and Jean Swank were elected to the council.

Polk County voters approved a SPLOST while the mayor’s race in Rockmart is going to a runoff between Sherman Ross and challenger James Payne.

In Summerville, Rickey Hughes was re-elected to the city council.

In Trion, Don Harris was re-elected to the Trion council while Laura Chesley is the newest member of the broad of education.

In Menlo, Melissa Hines and Tim Day won council seats.

Local Weather