Election qualifying continues

March 9, 2022–8:17 p.m.


Candidates who want to run for office during the 2022 General Primary and Nonpartisan Election have until noon Friday to sign up.

All Democratic and Republican candidates will qualify with their political party.

So far, Rhonda Wallace, Scotty Hancock, and Larry Maxey have qualified to seek another term on the Floyd County Commission while Chip Hood and Tony Daniel are seeking re-election to the county board of education.

For State Senate, incumbent Chuck Huftetler has qualified as have fellow Republicans Jeff Lewis and Derek Keeney.

For State House, Katie Dempsey has qualified in District 13 and Eddie Lumsden has qualified in District 12.

For Congress, incumbent Marjorie Taylor Greene has qualified in the Republican Primary as has Eric Cunningham, James Haygood, Charles Lutin, and Jennifer Trahan.

In the Democratic Primary for Congress, Wendy Davis, Marcus Flowers, and Holly McCormick have qualified.

Local Weather