Six Floyd County students named REACH Georgia scholarship recipients

December 15, 2021–11:00 a.m.


Six Floyd County Schools (FCS) eighth-graders and their parents or guardians signed their REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen) Georgia Scholarships before counselors, school administrators, and FCS administrators to become members of the REACH Scholars Class of 2025. 

The FCS 2021 REACH Georgia Scholars are:

  • Kaylee Colding, Model High
  • Thomas Jenkins, Model High
  • Jaila Powers, Pepperell High
  • Ella Quarles, Model High
  • Briana Salazar-Martinez, Coosa High
  • Deanna Vansant, Model High

REACH Georgia is a needs-based mentorship and scholarship program that begins in eighth grade. It is a program that is a part of the state’s Complete College Georgia initiative, which was created by Gov. Nathan Deal to increase by 60 percent the number of Georgians graduating with relevant postsecondary degrees by 2026, to support the state’s ever-changing workforce.

REACH Scholars are paired with a mentor and an academic coach through middle and high school. Scholars must maintain good grades (2.5 GPA), behavior, and attendance through middle school and high school. Scholars who successfully complete the program and graduate from high school are awarded a $10,000 scholarship ($2,500/year) that can be used at any HOPE-eligible institution in Georgia. 

This is the third cohort of REACH Scholars for FCS.  FCS would like to thank Communities in Schools, Georgia Power, Mr. Frank Barron, Oglethorpe Power, and Profile Custom Extrusions for their scholarship donations. For more information about the REACH Georgia Scholarship, please visit

Pictured clockwise from the bottom left: Kaylee Colding, Briana Salazar-Martinez, Thomas Jenkins, Ella Quarles, Deanna Vansant, and  Jaila Powers.

Local Weather