Runoff in sheriff’s race

June 11, 2020–5:26 a.m.


All the votes have now been counted and there will be a runoff for Floyd County Sheriff.

Following a software issue that resulted in a delay in counting mail-in absentee ballots, the final numbers are finally in and Dave Roberson was the top vote-getter in the race for sheriff.

However, his 48% of the vote was not enough to win outright so he and Tom Caldwell will face off in a runoff on August 11.

Other local results, John Cowan won the Floyd County vote for Congress.

Cowan got 6,329 votes in Floyd County while Marjorie Taylor Green got 4,803 votes.

Those two candidates will also be in a runoff.

The winner will face Democrat Kevin Van Ausdal in November.

In other results Katie Dempsey was re-elected to the State House, Gene Richardson will get another term as Chief Magistrate and incumbent Barbara Penson defeated Joe Costolnick in the Superior Court Clerk’s race in the Republican Primary and will face Democrat Moriah Medina in November.

Jon Ossoff won the Floyd County vote and the statewide vote in the Democratic Primary for US Senate and will face incumbent Republican David Perdue in November.

Local Weather