New City Commissioners sworn in Monday

January 13, 2020–9:53 p.m.


It was the first meeting Monday night for three new Rome City Commissioners.

Bonny Askew, Jim Bojo, and Mark Cochran were sworn in Monday night as well as incumbents Bill Collins, Craig McDaniel and Sundai Stevenson who were re-elected in November.

Floyd County Superior Court Judge Bryant Durham administered the oath.

Commissioners then re-elected Bill Collins and Mayor and selected Craig McDaniel as Mayor Pro Tem.

They also reappointed City Manager Sammy Rich.

In other action, the commission approved a Parks and Recreation Agreement including the addition of Eagle Park and the Dog Park to City Property List.

Local Weather