Mandatory evacuations for the Georgia coast ahead of Dorian

September 2, 2019–1:00 p.m.


Ahead of Hurricane Dorian, Governor Brian Kemp issued a mandatory evacuation of individuals east of Interstate 95 in Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty, and McIntosh counties.

The Governor’s order also directed the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMA/HS) and Georgia Department of Transportation to establish westerly contraflow on Interstate 16 starting at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, September 3, 2019.

Georgians in the evacuation zone are encouraged to review the evacuation routes.

“Hurricane Dorian is one of the strongest storms ever recorded in the Atlantic,” said GEMA/HS Director Homer Bryson. “We’ve been actively monitoring and continually preparing in advance of this storm and coordinating with our state and federal partners to ensure the safety of our fellow Georgians.”

In addition, President Trump declared an emergency declaration for 12 southeast Georgia counties, allowing direct federal assistance in the form of personnel and assets to aid the affected region of Georgia.

The counties are Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce and Wayne.

Currently, six shelter locations have been identified in Bibb, Columbia, Coffee, Laurens, McDuffie, and Ware counties.

Information regarding those shelter locations will be posted to the GEMA/HS website and social media pages.

Georgians are reminded that ahead of the storm, hazardous conditions will be prevalent at beaches.

Rip currents, large waves, and strong winds make any beach activity, whether in or out of the water, dangerous.

Avoid beaches and waterways and follow the guidance of your local emergency management officials.

Local Weather