Election results: Dave Roberson re-elected sheriff, Mary Hardin Thornton wins court clerk race

Tuesday, May 21, 2024–9:21 p.m.

-Staff reports-

Floyd County Sheriff Dave Roberson has been re-elected while Mary Hardin Thornton will be the new clerk of court.

Roberson won with 5,218 votes to challenger Robbie Whitfield’s 1,342 votes in the Republican Primary.

Thornton received 4,077 votes to become the new Floyd County Clerk of Superior Court. Incumbent Barbara Penson got 2,452 votes.

No Democrats are running for either position in November.

For State Senate in District 53, which includes a small portion of Northern Floyd County, incumbent Colton Moore had 722 votes in Floyd County while challenger Angela Pence had 245. Moore was also the leading vote-getter in the other counties in the 53rd District,

In the Democratic primary for Congress, Shawn Harris got 803 votes in Floyd County. Clarence Blalock was in second place with 581. They appear to be headed to a runoff.

The winner will take on Marjorie Taylor Green in November.

Greene was unopposed in the Republican primary.

Floyd County Results

Results from other counties:

Gordon County Results

Bartow County Results

Polk County Results

Chattooga County Results

Local Weather